Today’s word 3-6-2011


One thing I ask from the LORD,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the LORD
and to seek him in his temple.
Psalms 27:4

Many people attend Sunday services as a matter of habit. Perhaps they grew up in a Christian home and as children they were used to go to church to “comply” with the Lord. Maybe they think church attendance is a necessary but sufficient condition to stay in relationship with God. These folks ─many of them are not even Christians─, when they provide a good reference to their character they say “I go to church every Sunday,” as if going to church was a demonstration that they are good people. It is quite unfortunate that some individuals who regularly attend church on Sundays are not true children of God, or at least babies in Christ. The good news is that God continues to use the church and its leadership to convey to these folks a message of love and salvation. There is hope for them that at some point the word of God will penetrate the thick veil that covers their hearts so they can come to the feet of Jesus to be born again.

For those who have been born again, but see church attendance the same way as unbelievers do, I say that this has nothing to do with emotions. Attendance at Sunday worship should be something that contains a sense of anticipation of the worship, praise, teaching and fellowship that happens during the service. In our hearts there should be questions such as: What will God have to say to me today? Will I be able to pour my heart out to him during worship? Will I have a moment of fellowship with my brethren? Will I be able to apply in my life the lessons that I learn? Will I be able to serve the Lord? Please don’t do things out of habit or custom. We must be conscious of every step we take when we visit the temple of the Lord. The service will be of greater benefit to our lives. There we will be able to behold the beauty of the Lord and to rejoice in his presence. Will you join me? To God alone be the glory!

Leave a Reply

