Today’s word for April 4, 2011


All his laws are before me;
I have not turned away from his decrees.
I have been blameless before him
and have kept myself from sin.
The LORD has rewarded me according to my righteousness,
according to the cleanness of my hands in his sight.
Psalm 18:22-24

At first glance, the portion of today’s word looks like a self-justification. The human author of these words ─who other than King David! seemed to be saying: «I was rewarded because I have this, because I have kept his laws before me, because I have been blameless, because I have kept myself from sin, because of my righteousness, because of my clean hands …» In fact, David had a sinful nature just like any other human being. The Bible tells us of several times when David fell so low that he committed horrible crimes, which shows that his justification was not his own but was based on God’s mercy and forgiveness for the faults that he had committed. David knew that, what he was and the victories that he had obtained all came from the hand of God and therefore he never lost hope. Even at his most difficult moments, when he was at death’s door, he knew that God always loved him and protected him. David was a man who possessed many virtues. Also, as mentioned earlier, he showed a great weakness to certain temptations, which resulted in bitter consequences for him. In any case, David was a man whose heart was after God’s own heart and, in God’s eyes, this was the only important thing. David was a man of great faith, so great that his name appears in the “Hall of Fame” of the letter to the Hebrews.

Let us understand that our justification can only come from God His Son Jesus Christ, who “humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross!” Let us live always with faith, obedience and with our eyes focused in the Author of all good so we may stand firm against the storms of life, which will only calm down when they hear the word of command of the Creator of the universe ordering them to be still. Remember that “having been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.” Only to God be the glory!

2 responses to “Today’s word for April 4, 2011

  1. hi
    could i use your pic at the top for a mix cover on 8tracks please
    Lonja

Leave a Reply

