Today’s word for May 8, 2011


LORD, do not rebuke me in your anger
or discipline me in your wrath.
Your arrows have pierced me,
and your hand has come down on me.
Psalm 38:1-2

To depart from the ways that God has established for his children is to walk right into trouble. God is a perfect father that takes whatever corrective and disciplinary actions are necessary to keep us focused on the right path and with our sights set on the road. By design, if our attention is not set on the road we can very easily deviate. I have to confess that I am one of those people that enjoy admiring the scenery and many times when I’m driving my car I get easily distracted with something that is outside of the road. As soon as I return my gaze to the road I realize that the vehicle is no longer in the lane through which originally was driving but has drifted a little toward the adjacent channel. My reaction is swift and I manage to maneuver the car back to the original lane. However, my answer is sudden and the car responds with a swerve which is very unpleasant for the passengers that are riding with me. In addition, someone who is observing what is happening from outside the car might think that the driver (I) is under the influence.

God does not allow us to get out of the lane in which we ought to move. If he sees that life begins to deviate from the original track, he will take the direction of the vehicle and he will return us to the right lane. This corrective maneuver can be temporarily uncomfortable for us but as soon as we are again back on the original lane, things return to complete normality. Remember that God is who should be taking over the wheel and not us and that our Lord Jesus Christ should be the focus of our attention. Do not get distracted, from the center of path to avoid abrupt maneuvers that are necessary to keep us on track safely and accident-free. To God alone be the glory!

Leave a Reply

