Today’s word for June 24, 2011


I know, LORD, that your laws are righteous,
and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.
May your unfailing love be my comfort,
according to your promise to your servant.
Let your compassion come to me that I may live,
for your law is my delight.
Psalms 119:75-77

Knowledge, justice, discipline, compassion, comfort, promise, compassion, life, law, joy, how many principles and values are placed together in these short lines of the Word of God! No wonder the very word speaks of itself and says that from it new and old treasures can be drawn. The life of a child of God is not a simple life. The life of a child of God has many angles and activities that we need to learn and practice. Our relationship with God is not based only on reading his word, offering prayers to him and trusting in his promises. Nor is it only to serve, to evangelize, to help others, to be baptized or to partake of the Lord’s Supper. The life of a child of God is the sum of all these things and many more. With so many things to do with our life, how do we know what to do or how to act in certain circumstances? The key is precisely the quality of our relationship with God.

If we maintain a healthy, close and constant relationship with God, all we “have” to do will be easy to understand and to carry out. I put the word have in quotes because the things of God are not an obligation or a burden as such. Someone asked the Lord Jesus: “What must we do to do the works God requires?” The Lord replied, “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.” Also the Lord Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” The work of God is not heavy; the work of God is not complicated. The work of God is easy to perform as long as we depend on him and not on our own strength and abilities. Let’s seek support in our Lord and everything will move as the Lord wills, the right way. To God alone be the glory!

One response to “Today’s word for June 24, 2011

  1. Pingback: What is Compassion? « Christian CoffeeShop

Leave a Reply

