Fortress of salvation


The LORD is the strength of his people,
a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.
Psalm 28:8

When we find opposition or adversity in our path we raise our countenance to our Lord to seek his protection and help. This should be our immediate response to any challenge. However, oftentimes we engage in trying to resolve things by ourselves and we ignore the great opportunity that we could be giving our Lord to manifest himself in power and make his name to be exalted. Taking things upon our hands is like telling him: “I do not need you” and that’s a snub. Let us take notice of the rather large number of attributes that God shows in relation to our needs for protection. Let’s take a look at the word of God.

God is my light and my salvation, my fortress, my shelter, my refuge, my rock, my hope, my protection, my help, my strength, my shield, my shepherd, my fortress, my refuge, my strong tower, my righteousness, my God! As the sons of Korah said: “Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” [1] So when faced with adversity may our reaction be automatic and immediate. let us seek shelter under the loving protection of our Lord Jesus Christ, our beloved Savior. To God alone be the glory!

[1] Psalms 42:11
Leave a Reply

