Disdain


My heart pounds, my strength fails me;
even the light has gone from my eyes.
My friends and companions avoid me because of my wounds;
my neighbors stay far away.
Those who want to kill me set their traps,
those who would harm me talk of my ruin;
all day long they scheme and lie.
Psalm 38:10-12

How many times have we seen that when we are burdened by the weight of guilt and the consequences of sin, instead of receiving help from our fellow-men what we get is contempt and hardness of heart? It only ratifies the conventional wisdom that has been described as “When the tree is fallen, every man goeth to it with his hatchet.” Nobody is willing to reach out or to express affection in these sad and difficult moments that can happen to anyone. Friends, neighbors and relatives alike are kept as far away as possible from us as if our adversity was highly contagious. This is where we see the harsh reality of the human heart, insensible and hard as flint. Some even, not content with staying away, take advantage of our misery to seek our destruction.

If everybody would apply the Golden Rule that Jesus taught us things would be quite different as we are seeing today. The Lord said, “So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.” [1] If today we see someone whose life’s adversities have made him a shadow of what he was before, let us consider in our hearts how we would like to be treated if we were under the same circumstances. Let our heart be like the heart of our Lord Jesus Christ who always acted out of compassion for a lost human race who had no possibility of salvation outside of putting their faith in him. To God alone be the glory!

[1] Matthew 7:12
Leave a Reply

